h1

What Makes A Good Dealer Consultant/Trainer Today?

March 26, 2010

I was on a webinar yesterday called “Battle of the Trainers.”  On it, was a dealership looking for a consultant/trainer to take them to the next level with their BDC/Internet efforts.  The premise was to have the dealer bulk interview trainers to see if they could find the right one for them.  It was a very interesting webinar.  I enjoyed listening to the other trainers talk about their philosophies on training and consulting. 

Around 100 other dealers were on the call to listen in.   I could count 5 or 6 consultants that actually spoke.  All were excellent and would move the needle at any dealership if hired.  I heard Joe Webb, Ralph Paglia, Philip Zelinger, and a couple others whose names escape me right now.  (sorry to you)

A question was asked, “As a trainer/consultant, what sets you apart from the others?”

I would like to answer that question here.

As a new car salesman in 1988, I was lucky enough to work for a sales manager who really cared about our success.  His name is Ken Cooper from the Round Lake area in Illinois.  He took the time to put us though a good training course on selling cars.  I had a lot of respect for him and worked hard for him.

A few years later in 1993, at a different store , I was put through another training course.  I remember asking, “Why?”  I had already been selling for 5 years.  What could they teach me?  This was a trainer hired by the dealer group named John Quade.  I went with a negative attitude but listened anyway.  His energy and positive selling process quickly turned me around. 

These are the two people I remember who had the most impact on my career.  These are the two people who made it possible for me to see how to make a good living in the car business.  They didn’t just train, they showed that they cared about my success.  I remember them for that and still have respect for them.  I wonder what they are up to and wish them well.

What sets me apart from other trainers/consultants?  I feel that to get the best results, you need to help your staff succeed.  Not simply train them.

I want to have a blog like this written about me some day.

3 comments

  1. Aw Doug… you’re killin’ me with the “John” thing! LOL

    What an important message you send: you never know who you’re going to touch, because there are literally thousands of other people who have attended training sessions with me over the years. Yet, there is a certain percentage who actually internalize what you preach and use it to their benefit. YOU are much more responsible for your success than I am, but I’m truly humbled that you thought of me, Doug. Congratulations on what you’ve done so far and all that you’ll accomplish from here forward!

    Jon Quade

    P.S. If you really want to know what I’ve been up to over the years, drop by when you get a chance: http://lmjazz.typepad.com/quadequick/2010/03/bio-contact-information.html.


  2. Hello Jon. Thanks for responding. I doubt you would remember me in your class all those years ago. You were contracted by Bob Rohrman.

    I agree that we are all ultimately repsonsible for our own success. It is a HUGE bonus when someone shows us how to do that for ourselves. Thank you for that.

    Now, you must imagine my years of frustration as I googled “John Quade” and only came up with some actor from “Every Which Way But Loose?”

    I am glad to finally re-connect with you.


  3. Doug, thank you for the comments. It is always nice to know that you have been able to “give back” to the business that has been so good to me. If you need anything that I can do for you please contact me at clozer@gmail.com. I will respond. Again, thank you for the comments.

    Sincerely,
    Ken Cooper



Leave a Reply

